K-Pop Rewind: H.O.T

Oh YeeeAHHH! I’m kickin it old school and introducing a new series “K-Pop Rewind”. This is all about giving a shout out and appreciating the Idols who basically paved the way for the Idols we love today. I’m starting the series off with the one and only H.O.T ( High five Of Teenagers) created by SM in 1996. The group disbanded in 2001, but when talking about Korean boybands they are Kings. Many of your favorite groups today have totally indulged in doing covers of their singles like “Candy” and “We are the Future”. They were so huge they even had their own soda brand! So lets get to the fun…

Check out their 1997 MV for “We are the Future”. Dont make fun of me but I love it! They were seriously bustin a move, rockin in silk pajamas and whippin some seriously crazy hair.  Below are their stats with then and now pictures.

Based on everything provided who would you have chosen as your H.O.T Bias?

Leader: Moon Hee Jun – Age 33 – I know right? Still rockin the same hair ^_^

Jang Woo Hyuk – Age 33 – I could of used a face shot..but what for?

Tony An – Age 33 – I’ve seen him on Strong Heart! Have you?!

Kang Ta – Age 32 – Hmm SuJu member Choi Siwon’s Twin? Oppa is my H.O.T Bias.

 Lee Jae Won – Age 31 He’s the Maknae! Pretty eyes right?!

K-Kisses! KrisE

Want to be totally connected to us and in the know? Follow BWLB on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/blackwomenloveb and you can catch me at:  http://twitter.com/#!/K_Kisses_KrisE


PLEASE READ BEFORE COMMENTING In order to keep the comments section fair to all readers, comments are moderated and the following will be deleted:

-Personal attacks and insults -More than 1 hyperlink or video pasted into comment -“First” -Hate Speech -Off Topic -ALL-CAPS -Abusive Net-Speak (“i thk dis iz crazi”) -Trolling or derailing the conversation -Spam -Using the reply feature without actually replying to a comment.

14 thoughts on “K-Pop Rewind: H.O.T

  1. have to say that i screamed wen i opened this page…i was lyk aaahhh H.O.T were n are hoooot! Have to agree with you on Kang lukn like Siwon’s twin he’d be my bias too sorely based on that alone 🙂 they totalee must have bin rockin it back in the 90’s

  2. Yes!!! More chances for me to call someone oppa 🙂 Looking at their video and pictures, you can definitely tell they were a 90s band but its cool. I would definitely pick Jang Woo Hyuk as my bias…but that’s because I am a sucker for a hot body. 🙂 Great post!

  3. You know what? I have never seen any of their past videos. It’s surprising. But, I heard that they’re trying to get back together. That would be cool.

    Around this time, I was into Backstreet Boys, ‘NSYNC, 5ive, 98 Degrees. I love boybands back in the 90s.

    • @ Nicole, I’m with u on this topic. I was born in the 90’s so I was totally into the backstreet boys etc. And since there was no Youtube until 2005 kpop was a very unheard of thing for me. I think I liked my first Japanese song when I was about 10 tho lol.

      • I was born in the 1980s. I was a teen in high school when Backstreet Boys, ‘NSYNC, 5ive and 98 Degrees were huge. I didn’t get into Kpop until Feb. 2006; as for Jpop, it was few years later.

      • Me too. I was so rockin’ out at the last NKOTBSB concert. Knew the words to all of the songs. My little sister’s first concert was BSB. The video though reminds me of old Nysnc videos, before they were well known

  4. Back then, I didn’t know about Kpop. I was checking out( and still do) Japanese ,Spanish entertainment or Bollywood. Still, it’s great that you have a ” What ever happened to the oppas ..” article. There are probably some former fangirls who want to know what happened to them? I like seeing shows like that because you do wonder what is up with them and they’ll enjoy it as well.

  5. They had some really good dance moves, and you can tell they worked really hard to perfect it and also you can definately tell the American influence in their moves!! Come on now, the Silk Pajama thing was the style back in the day because MC Hammer and Vanilla Ice use to rock Their Silk pants and outfits all the time! 🙂

  6. H.O.T. was one of the first groups I got into along with A4, Fly to the Sky, and Sechskies around ’99-’00. Although I gave them serious side eye for using “nigga” in songs, Outside Castle is still one of my fave songs and videos. I remember the drama of H.O.T. breaking up and the emergence of JTL. I always thought Kangta was the best looking of the group even though I didn’t really keep with his music because I thought it was boring. Apparently he will be on the Korean version of the show The Voice: http://www.allkpop.com/2012/01/the-voice-is-coming-to-korea

  7. OMG!! SOOO glad your doing this feature!!!! Im familiar with H.O.T. and its cool to look at those that went before the idols we know and love today… and ive been soo wanting to know about them. The guys STILL look good after all these years….and DAMN i didnt realize they are soo young.. im around the same age as them!!!!^_^……..i keep on forgetting that they start out REALLY young when these boys/girls sign on to these entertainment groups. Man, I cant wait until the next posting……good looking out, KrisE. KUDOS!!!

Leave a Reply

