Nichkhun Plugs “The Help”

Just another reason why he is one of my favourite people in K-pop! Today, 2PM’s Nichkhun carried on a brief Twitter conversation about race and discrimination with his friend @peach_pachara, and ended with suggesting that he watch “The Help”, a 2011 film depicting life for 2 African-American maids who serve white employers during the U.S. Civil Rights era. See below.

I am ashamed to say that I haven’t seen this movie yet. I simply haven’t had the time to go to the theatre, but I’m going to take Khunnie’s suggestion and see it ASAP. I’ve heard rave reviews about it from just about everyone who’s seen it, so no more excuses boab81!

Want to be totally connected to us and in the know? Follow BWLB on Twitter at blackwomenloveb and KrisE at: K_Kisses_KrisE


PLEASE READ BEFORE COMMENTING
In order to keep the comments section fair to all readers, comments are moderated and the following will be deleted:

-Personal attacks and insults
-More than 1 hyperlink or video pasted into comment
-”First”
-Hate Speech
-Off Topic
-ALL-CAPS
-Abusive Net-Speak (“i thk dis iz crazi”)
-Trolling or derailing the conversation
-Spam
-Using the reply feature without actually replying to a comment

This entry was posted in 2PM and tagged , , , , , , by bitofabelly81. Bookmark the permalink.

About bitofabelly81

Who I am Bitofabelly81 aka boab81, founder of Black Women Love Bi (BWLB): An Asian Men Appreciation Blog Why Because I love Bi/Rain/비/Jung Jihoon. I have never been inspired to start a blog/site for any celebrity/public figure, until I learned about Bi. He is the whole reason this blog exists. If it weren't for him, I would know nothing about the world of K-pop (which I adore), nor would I care. I am also a big fan of Japan and all things Japanese. I strive to feature men of all Asian ethnicities on the blog, but since K-pop and Hallyu are very popular, this blog has a tendency to lean more towards features on Korean men. Follow me on Twitter blackwomenloveb Find BWLB on Facebook here Wanna drop me a tip? Wanna say hi? Wanna say anything? Email me at bitofabelly81@gmail.com

54 thoughts on “Nichkhun Plugs “The Help”

      • I wouldn’t be so suprised with Khun tho. He lived in the US. It would be more surprising for an idol who never really lived outside Korea speaking on issues like race and mistreatment of others.

      • Dani,

        You have a valid point. I could imagine living a homogeneous country like Korea all you know ( If you’re not in the cities of it) you’re people and what you’re being taught in school consist of 99 Korean history and maybe one..if that is taught is non-Korean, if that is being done and all of your friends are Korean. It leaves you little room for exposure to others or to understand the world as a whole.

        People like Taec, Khunnie and Nich knows the deal but it may be a different ball game for the rest of them. Sometimes when I hear a person from other countries with the impressions of the states being a melting pot country, it makes me cringe,but I let them form their own opinions of it,but if they ask me questions about it, I do offer my assessment of it. Though the US is better than a lot of countries,it is not as open as they picture it as being and with all of this xenophobia, Islamophobia , sexism and racism that has become rampant here as of late, it is really embarrassing. I wouldn’t be surprised if those three have already caution them about the ugliness of it

    • With the exception of 2PM’s debut,
      something about him never really sat well with me,
      which has discouraged me from getting to know him better.
      A comment such as this though, has definitely piqued my interest.
      I would love to have a conversation with him
      about race relations in America.

  1. I just saw this movie during the past holiday week. It is a very good movie and he was right to recommend it.

    Honestly, I think people in general (worldwide) are more aware than they let on (some of them). So, when “issues” crop up that aren’t too cool, it’s like….Ok, what’s really going on….cause I know you Know the deal. Anyway, check out the movie you’ll enjoy it.

  2. I saw this conversation on Twitter and I was like, huh? Ok, cool. Promote that movie. Altho I wonder if that’s being shown there.

    Yes I follow Nikhun, Taec, Junho, and JJ with mobile updates. 9 times out of 10, don’t know what’s being said. But Khun and Taec frequently do english tweets, so Im happy 😀

    • I’m glad I’m not the only person who thought this!

      ‘The Help’ is a standard Hollywood “white saviour” film and a lot of Black female bloggers online have talked about the movie and the book ad nauseum.

      This is actually the first blog I’ve come across that talks about ‘The Help’ positively. I’m surprised, actually. ‘The Help’ is one movie I won’t be watching, I read the book and the ‘blacker than a cockroach’ bit still haunts me to this day. As much as I love Viola Davis, I just can’t with Hollywood sometimes.

  3. I haven’t watched “The Help”,but I’m still not interested in watching it.

    I see why Nick is your favorite 2pm member.One thing that cannot be said about this guy is that he isn’t open-minded. Then again, this is a guy who have lived in the states, New Zealand and continues to travel around the world meeting all sorts of people.Like the rest of you, I was equally as surprised that The Help is in South Korea. For one, it wasn’t that long ago that the movie came out. I just didn’t see it getting to there that quick. Secondly, I may seem like a knucklehead for saying this as I’ve never been to Korea, but I didn’t think that they would have movies like that where the focus on the movie is primarily focused on Black people along with the White characters in it.

  4. This is one of those topics I’d like to “sink my teeth” into, however, I’ll refrain. I’m enjoying the comments though.

  5. Hello, I have been a lurker to this site for a couple of months. I watched this movie recently, and while I thought it was ok, there are other movies that focus on domestic employment in the Jim Crow/Civil Rights era, that are better than The Help. I think of The Help as being a light-hearted comedy, and it kind of makes me uncomfortable that the movie has some comedic elements in it, even though there is one scene that is absolutely hilarious for all the right reasons. Also, the two maids that are the protagonists of the movie, remind me of the “Noble Negro” and “Loud Black Woman” (and go figure, from what I heard, there was a lot of buzz about the actress who plays this character) stereotypes. There wasn’t a lot of balance with these characters. I thought one of the best actresses in the movie was one who didn’t even get a lot of screen time, but the all of three minutes that she was in the movie made me sympathize with the character. Before seeing this movie, I happened to watch The Long Walk Home, with Whoopie Goldberg, and I thought that it was a much better film. The other thing about this movie that’s kind of touchy is that it may also serve as nostalgia for people who grew up during that time period and had black maids as their caretakers, so I have to wonder just exactly how they view this movie.

  6. wooooooooooow oooooooooooooooook now I get it….so this is the only blog that actually had something good to say about this film? Ironic! I have not yet seen the movie, but now I definitely want to. I think Nichkhun’s plugging of the movie was innocent and sincere. Even though I haven’t seen it, I can understand what most of you are saying, but I do not believe Nichkhun is able to see it that way. In his mind, he most likely sees a movie with a “happy ending” where African Americans are being helped, and are triumphant in the end. Is there anyone out there (besides the very few ladies who’ve commented) who actually liked “The Help”?

    • This is “killing me” BOAB81. See the movie and then tell us what you think after you’ve seen it. All I can say is history is history, it is what it was……..period. Whatever you think about Hollywood, it’s a “leopard” whose spots have yet to change, so what happens there ain’t new.

      • @BiAlamode: will definitely see it. So weird, people around me who saw it said it was good, so I have been wanting to see it for a while. However, you are right, Hollywood will never change. So true. I mean, isn’t one of our biggest problems with Hollywood is that (TO THIS DAY) they still don’t want to correctly portray an Asian male???

    • I really liked the movie and so did the rest of my family =D. I think it at least shows that African Americans were being treated unfairly for no reason. Remember the Titans was once one of my favorite movies; so I tend to like race based films that aren’t too hard core. I think for a non African Americans “The Help” will open their eyes more, it gets the basic point of across (I hope what I’m saying makes sense lol). I’m glad Khunnie recommended the film. I also, love how he didn’t fail to mention that racism is STILL A PROBLEM! I have a friend (white), who thinks that racism isn’t all that much of a problem anymore. I mean some of the things the girl says just makes me go o.O, but I don’t say too much to her because I don’t want to get into an argument. She doesn’t know it but truth be told the girls kinda racist…anywho thats enough of me venting about my friend. Thanks for posting, you’re making me fall even deeper in ♥ with Khunnie. No one’s perfect, but Nichkhun is most def a great guy!

      • @Steff: I have several non-black friends who just don’t get it. They don’t understand that racism is still very much alive, and since they haven’t lived my experience, they just don’t get it. Like I said in a comment above, Nichkhun most likely wasn’t looking at this movie the same way that a black woman may look at it. Why? Cuz he’s not a black woman! And he can’t help that. Still, I think his motives for plugging the movie were well-intentioned. He seems like a real person who accepts other for who they are on the inside…I bet he’d make a great friend/brother/co-worker/bf/son/grandson/hubby. Just seems like a good person 🙂

      • @BOAB81,

        I don’t see anything wrong with him plugging the movie. At least there was a movie about race relations regarding Black people for him TO reference and in a country other than the U.S. no less. His intentions to me are in the first line of his comment……”a racist is not hip”……that’s the truth he was trying to get across to his friend.

        If black people boycotted every Hollywood movie that made the “white guy” the hero, we’d never go to the movies…….ever. When and until more people of color are able to bank roll movies from top to bottom, Hollywood is gonna be what it’s gonna be. So far we got Spike Lee and we got Tyler Perry. We need more names on that list. The “hero” is always gonna be someone who looks like you (whoever you are). Personally, I liked the movie. There are times when I want to see a “deeper” movie about race and then there are times when I don’t want to watch a movie that’s too “raw” because once again, when you talk generation gaps, my blood will boil quicker than someone who is younger than me. That’s just the way it is. Younger people don’t experience overt racism and because our country is seeing it’s first president of color, some may feel racism is gone. However, those of us who are older or who have dealt with racism personally Know that racism has merely “gone undergroud” as it’s Way More subtle these days. People who were never really affected by overt racism and never felt it before, sure don’t feel it now. Racism is not just about saying the “N” word out loud anymore. People can take a pen and a piece of paper and in effect cause the same damage. I do get why some people don’t want to see The Help, but until we (Black people) can write, produce and make our own films the way we want to……this is all there is right now. So kudos to Nichkhun for even giving a damn enough to recommend something regarding a people not his own.

      • @BiAlamode: very well said. What you said about Nichkhun…that is the angle I was coming from when putting up this post. It was more of a “wow, Nichkhun pays more attention than we can imagine” rather than a “this movie does nothing for black folks, but Nichkhun thought so”…
        Lol, I hope it isn’t “killing” you anymore. Were you able to say what you wanted to? 🙂

      • Guys,

        One of the predominate reasons that I have no interest in looking at The Help is because I seen this movie through my late grandmother and several other people I knew . Honestly, she did have it ” good” as she was always treated with respect,but one thing I never heard her do was to brag about being a maid in those days. Don’t get me wrong, I do not look down on people who have that job,but for black people from the Jim Crow era and beyond, it was a reminder of subservience as they had very little options to go elsewhere back then.

        To look at a movie like that reminds me of some of these hop-videos that are on TV. It gives society the impression that Black people are all about money , booty and no class when we know how untrue that is. It’s the same way with the help. I believe that there were some Black maids did have sincere friendships with their White employers,but I will never take away the fact the others did not. I also wouldn’t want for people to think that all Black people just wanted to settle being in those positions. Not even my grandmother didn’t want her kids or grandkids to be in her position because of it.It was a position she didn’t choose to be in or wanted to being in her position.

        Racism exists today and one of the reasons that it does is because seeds of the past are still being planted. I imagine non-Blacks not understanding us because the differences of experiences and histories differ and if they are especially from another country , they really may not understand. Some of them they see is America the land of the free and all with all of these beautiful races and cultures in it,but not how they interact with each other. That is the biggest trap many of us fall for when defining true diversity.

      • @BOAB81,

        Whew…………….Yes, I let it out (Hahaha!!) I was about to burst! (SMILES)

      • @ bitofabelly81. I’m 18 years old and so far growing up most of my friends have been white and they just don’t get it! I’m just sitting here thinking Khunnie, can you teach my friends how to be open minded like you? Khun seemed open minded and caring but this post still made me go wow! I wish I had a friend or bf like Khun…def a great person ♥
        Btw I also read the post about Hoya, I had heard that story once before but I didn’t know all the details. Him wanting to be black was too cute!

  7. A lot of people might not have the experience of blatant racism, such as being called the “N” word or some other racial slur being directed at them, but what people might be much more likely to experience is invisibility, which would just be feeling like people don’t even see you because of your race. It’s basically about not being seen as worthy of attention or consideration because of race. My sister experienced invisibility when she went to France to do a study abroad program, recently. The people whom she felt invisible around were the other Americans who were in the program, who happened to be mostly white students. This was new for my sister, because In the states, my sister was used to having mostly white friends because of her interests and social experiences, but these people must not have been used to being around black people or whatever because of the areas of the country in which they came from or something like that., There is usually something that’s not part of their conscious thought process that allows for this to happen.

  8. Looong comment warning!

    Yep, this is the only blog by Black women that had something good to say about ‘The Help’ I’ve come across! Then again, most of the blogs I follow are very anti-racist, feminist and are more likely to pay attention to how people of colour are stereotyped in mainstream media. There was even a blog created to critically review ‘The Help’, though it seems to be offline now.

    I think the biggest criticism came from ‘The Help’s historical inaccuracy particularly in how it attempted to downplay the kind of racism African American maids experienced in that time. Also the stereotypes, particularly in how both the book and the movie portray African American men as lazy, wife beaters. It’s really the same old formula of ‘white person comes to help people of colour and improve their lot in life’ when it could have easily been about people of colour helping themselves (as it mostly happens in real life where white saviours).

    My friends call me disciplined because of how I vet the kind of media I consume, I will not support anything that is racist, sexist, homophobic, negatively stereotypical etc so I tend not to consume a lot of mainstream media. (I bought ‘The Help’ believing the author was African American). It is interesting because though some people would think that I’d have difficulty accessing media that meets my criteria, I find that there is no shortage of films to watch, books to read and music to listen to by people of colour. I only watched TWO Hollywood movies in 2011 (Thor because of Idris Elba and Tadanobu Asano, Green Hornet because of Jay Chou), most of the films I watched came from Britain ,India, West Africa (for example, Sinking Sands from Ghana), South Korea, Japan and Brazil. So if you boycott Hollywood there is a whole lot of stuff for you to watch! If you don’t want to watch movies that are not made in the United States, simply go online! Thanks to the internet there is so much more diversity with people of colour representing themselves since Hollywood is too invested in its white cis heterosexual heroes and heroines. Check out the Adventures of an Awkward Black Girl (though it does have issues with transphobia) or go through Clutch’s recommended web series. That said, I’d have been more impressed if Nichkhun had plugged ‘The Long Walk Home’. I don’t think you have to be Black or African American to see how ‘The Help’ plays into existing racist stereotypes and does nothing to challenge the status quo. Then again, ‘The Help’ is really mainstream and I’ve had British friends recommend the movie to me as well (they also liked ‘The Blindside’ ~shudder~). This disturbs me because I know that if ‘The Help’ truly tackled racism head on and truly showed the kind of racism African American maids went through in the Jim Crow era, if the book had been written by an African American woman and was not centred on a white female, both the movie and the book may not have been such a worldwide success.

    • I know it’s weird replying to myself! I forgot to include some links in this and thought it wouldn’t be a horrible idea to show how most of the blogs I follow viewed ‘The Help’ in order to show where I’m coming from.

      This is why I worry about “The Help”
      I’ll have to keep an eye out for more positive reviews of ‘The Help’ from Black bloggers.

      I noticed an earlier comment that said ‘history is history’, well in most cases it isn’t. History is a constantly manipulated field, especially what a friend calls ‘pop history’ i.e. the history majority of the people believe. ‘Pop history’ is manipulated so that you know only certain aspects of characters from the history of very particular cultures. That’s why a lot of people believe that the Mayans were made extinct by the Spanish, it’s also why the same lot believe that there was no civilisation in majority of Africa before the advent of the European and the Arabs, that’s also why today people imagine ancient Egyptians were Caucasian and that there were no African people in ancient Rome and Britain. History is not always history.

      • Yes, I said history is history. I don’t think anyone would argue that historical facts have been manipulated down through the centuries, however when I said history is history, my point was this. Were there Black maids who worked for “good white folks” in the South during the time period portrayed?….Yes, Were black men and women treated like second class citizens during the time period portrayed?…..Yes, Were there abusive men during the time period portrayed (Not All of course but some who happened to be black)?…..Yes. There are some things that are indeed fact and That part IS history. I have some family members who can attest to what they lived through. Were there parts of the film that made me really cringe?…..yes, however, I will not state them here but these things happened.

        As I stated before, whoever gets to bank roll a film in Hollywood nine times out of ten will certainly portray “the hero” as a carbon copy of themselves. This is not new, Hollywood does it all the time. I look at most Hollywood films as entertainment and not the “gospel.” Most movies are made to do just what we’re doing conversing about the subject matter at hand. This movie was not meant to “go hard” on the subject of racism, but enough of it was shown for the audience to get that black people had a tough row to hoe back then. If seeing the movie The Help will light a spark inside some young person to go to the nearest library, pick up a book or watch a documentary (i.e, the American Slave Narratives comes to mind) and actually do further research……Their Own research then the film will have proved useful in that regard. Anyway, this post was really in regard to recognizing Nichkhun’s efforts in raising awareness among his friends about racism and I applaud him for choosing to at least reference a film that portrayed racism against black people. I don’t want to take away from BOAB81’s original intent.

  9. Props to khunnie for mentioning the movie. Im sure all of those fan girls who follow him defiantly try to get their hands on this movie. From the comments it’s a good movie for people who dont know the history of the struggle to digest. Some people cant take it raw.I personally, havent had the chance to watch the movie, although I brought a copy 2 days ago, been a lil busy. My friends gave a good review and said that it was good enough not to make you completely angry at how things were back then. We from Louisiana and have experienced racism in various ways. I will share one of my experiences that completely gets under my skin. In my early 20s I use to touch my hand and really expected me to give their change back to work in retail. I could have the best conversation with someone and help them, but when it was time for them to pay. Lord in heaven please tell me why, these woman would put their money on the counter, refusing to touch my hand. Not only that, but then wanted to get their change in their hands and pretend nothing happen.. Are you kiddding me??? Im 27 now and its still happening, not in the retail stores, but in the little town I grew up in. Trust and believe this little cashier girl at this local pizza place as one more time to put my change on the counter and I am gonna politely return my pizza and never go there again. Oh, after I give her a lesson in etiquette. Ok,Im done….. sorry for my rant,.

    • @surkura, Hey she was just afraid that “brown sugar” would rub off on her. (SMILES) I’m from Texas, born and raised and I have folks on both sides of my family who came from Lousiana to Texas to live. So I TOTALLY understand…..believe me. So, I’m gonna have to follow Nichkhun more closely now. Seems there’s more than meets the eye with him. (SMILES)

      • @BiAlamode: Khunnie once said that he was surprised to see black people at 2PM’s shows. Which tells me that he is very aware of our presence, at least, enough to make a comment about it. On top of that, he just seems like a really sweet, sincere person.

      • @Bialamode..”brown sugar” lol.. Im gonna keep an eye on Nick as well and the other on Junho….lol

  10. I was one of those who read the book and then saw the movie with 2 of my friends who had also read the book and happened to be white. I have been on other sites talking about these movies and had to “leave” because it got so negative. When I saw how many posts were attached to this topic I knew it would mostly be about the move and less about Nickhun. I enjoyed the movie and felt it got people talking about things they might never have done. There were many many white women book clubs that were reading this book ( I work at a bookstore). Would they have had the same type of discussions about Mammy in Gone with the Wind, probably not. So that in itself was good and maybe some people saw the negative part of themselves represented in the book and maybe they have tried to make changes. I don’t know. I will tell you I am a little tired of these other black movies showing black folks as idiots and these are usually done by black writers/producers. I am tired of those stupid Wayan Bro movies, Soul Plane, etc type movies. That is just my opinion. When people from other countries watch those they are getting an incorrect representation. What people keep forgetting about The Help that it was written from a young white woman’s viewpoint. Like Bialamode said “History is what it is” I prefer to see that side of the maid’s story, even though they wrapped it up nice although the ending wasn’t entirely a happy one, than the Gone with the Wind side.

      • As I got older I’ve came to detest those type of movies. The sterotyping…. I want throw something at the TV.

        Lots of good comments here! Props still go to Khun. Maybe he and YoonMirae can be ambassadors.

  11. I think a major part of the problem is that the “black image” was already damaged because people purposely did minstrel shows and used other formats to characterize the black image as ridiculous and something to be entertained by. So now, when black people do movies/tv shows, such as Soul Plane, in which they act foolishly for comedic affect, it just perpetuates that image of black people being clown like, and there for peoples entertainment. While other people are allowed to be seen as individuals, black people are not seen as individuals, due to a legacy of having our image controlled by others.

    I watched The Hangover 2, the other day, with my boyfriend, because he likes those kinds of comedies, and while I was watching it, I thought to myself that white people are basically allowed to act foolishly without fear of backlash and stereotypes. I mean, how many movies are there, that depict white characters acting ridiculous? Many. But nobody leaves the theatre thinking that a whole group of people act the way those particular characters act. No, that selective thinking is reserved for blacks and other minority groups.

    Another thing that I have been thinking about more recently is the idea of culture and subculture. A lot of peole seem to think that all black people adhere to one culture, usually the hip-hop culture, when that’s not the case. Hip-Hop is a subculture, amonst many other subcultures. BUt once again, based on what is seen on tv and in music videos, a lot of people seem to think that all black people are part of only one specific type of culture.

    • ” watched The Hangover 2, the other day, with my boyfriend, because he likes those kinds of comedies, and while I was watching it, I thought to myself that white people are basically allowed to act foolishly without fear of backlash and stereotypes. I mean, how many movies are there, that depict white characters acting ridiculous? Many. But nobody leaves the theatre thinking that a whole group of people act the way those particular characters act. No, that selective thinking is reserved for blacks and other minority groups.”
      I think I erased my entire comment-arghhh!! Star Trek-great example of diversity

      Anyway the short of it was that I applaud writers who come up with characters and then audition across the board to fit that character. I like Star Trek for that reason, from the get go it was all about people not color. The writer said he thought it was stupid that in the future only one race would be exploring space. They have had characters from white to middle eastern to asian shown prominently in their shows and it never came down to their color, but just them.

      That is so true! You hit the nail on the head with that one. No one gets stuck in that stupid category as much as minorities. Its sad. I grew up around all nationalities, but that doesn’t make me jaded about how certian people are constantly portrayed. I like the movies where people are potrayed as that-people. I like movies where a character just happens to be (insert color). When you hear a scriptwriter who writes a character and then auditions across the board to fit that character, I applaud that. Even if you are not a Star Trek fan, I believe they always set the bar with casting all people.

      • oops sorry about that. I thought my entire comment had been erased. Sorry for repeating myself

  12. Bitofmybelly81,

    Ugh! wasn’t Soul Plane an awful flick? It wasn’t funny no kind of why.I can’t believe that they actually let that movie in theatres and DVD’s.

    Introverted wanderer,

    I hate how some people define black culture. In some ways, it laughable to think that hip hop is our culture, or culture,period. Hip hop didn’t always exist. What did they call it in the past. They can say Hip-hip is a part of the music culture or one’s personal lifestyle, but culture? no, it isn’t.

    I’m bothered by it because this is what the world primarily think about us when it comes to Black culture. Ask the average person what Black culture is it isn’t about Martin Luther Kings , The Garrett Morgans or Charles Drews..it’s about stereotypes. As a Black person I would like for people to admire our culture because of something that we have positively contributed to this world

    I don’t have any kids of my own,but I’m always finding intriguing to read about Black inventors, aviators, geologist, doctors and scientist and other civil right pioneers. Now, I don’t take away from those Blacks that are dancers, playing in sports or or singers,but if I’m a non-black woman and I wanted to learn more about Black culture , it will leave you wondering ” is this all Black culture is about? “because TV will give people negative perceptions of who we are.

    Just the other day my eldest nephew said he had to tell a fellow Black classmate off about him skateboarding. The guy criticized him because he felt that Black people don’t skateboard. He just told him ” Well I do and to shut up”I don’t know where the student got the concept from as I’ve seen several Black guys doing it. Just like my nephew tried dispelled the myth to his classmate about Black skateboarders, it should be the same with hip hop, sports etc. There is so much more to Black culture than the stereotypical “norm”. I would want for any non-Black American to learn that much about me.

    • Well said! Just the other day my sister said she was going to break the black stereotypes one by one-starting with swimming. LOL! I need to get on that as well. She is also going to learn to snowboard. I can’t jump on that wagon, but I am rooting for her. 🙂

      • @lei,

        lol, i applaud your sister. i always wanted to learn to swim esp after watching esther williams movies. i took my first lessons at age 29. i’m breaking stereotypes in other ways too…i can’t dance a lick, lol…

        i agree, i love watching snowboarders but that’s it…btw, when my sister was little, there was a disney movie out called ‘johnny tsunami’ about a boy from hawaii who moved to vermont. the public school kids snowboarded, and the private school kids skied…he went to the private school, but he preferred to snowboard since it was like surfing. he befriended a black student played by a very cute lee thompson young who taught him to snowboard. very random reference, i know…anyway, if your sister learns to snowboard, she’ll be in good company, lol..

        and back on topic, khunnie always gives me new reasons to love him, ❤ …

  13. I just bought the DVD about a week ago and cried while watching this. It’s a seriously good movie and I recommend it to anyone. GO KHUNNIE for tweeting about his negative perspective on racism.

  14. @ATLSis, Exactly. It is funny when people think that black culture is Hip Hop. Before there was Hip-Hop, there were other forms of music that black people participated in and enjoyed.That’s why I think that people have to start thinking of Hip-Hop as a music subculture, instead of the overarching culture of black people. Black people are not a monolith. Different people have different preferences. There are some black people who like Punk music, and there are some black people who are part of the Afro-Punk scene. Not all black people listen to Hip-Hop or worship Hip-Hop culture.

    For me personally, since my family was from the Caribbean, and moved here when i was a toddler, I listened to primarily reggae music, in my formative years, specifically Bob Marley, and also, I liked pop songs that I heard on the radio, since my family always listened to one particular station that played pop music and soft rock. I remember when I was in sixth grade, my family moved to a new town, and when I went to school, I started hearing about rap artists from other students who listened to that music. I didn’t know any of the artists or songs that they were talking about, and I really didn’t care too. It just wasn’t my thing. I listen to some Hip-Hop music now, but it definitely is not my first choice of music. I just like a few of the songs. My younger sister, who listens to some Hip-Hop, sometimes asks me if I’ve heard of this artist or that artist, and most of the time, the answer is NO.

    Also, not every black person is from the same place. As I said before, I am from the Caribbean, Even though my family moved to the states, to a town in New England, they still practiced some of the cultural traditions that they knew in Jamaica, such as the type of food that was cooked in our house, the music we listened too, and how we spoke patois when we felt like it. So my cultural experiences growing up might have been quite different than another black family in a different region of the country. We’re all different.

  15. @BiAlamode

    That part IS history, yet it is just a part of history not the entire picture. History really can’t be decontextualised, but we see it happen again and again. Hollywood is entertainment, but when you consider that people all over the world are watching Hollywood movies and imbibing all the stereotypes that are rampant in “Hollywhite”, it does get a bit disturbing.

    I like your optimism in believing that people who watch Hollywood film converse about the subject matter like we are now. IMHO, most of the time they don’t. Only a very select few would bother to learn more about African American history thanks to ‘The Help’. I’ve read a few reviews of ‘The Help’ from non-Western sources and they so far have not gone into the kind of discrimination African American maids faced during that period. They apply the situation to themselves, whether the reviewers are Togolese, Nigerian or from the U.A.E., it is about the maids they had growing up or the maids they saw while growing up. There is pity rather than sympathy.

    Also with regards to stereotypes in Hollywood films, one never really realise just how powerful they are until one goes abroad, travels all over the world and meets people that have formed opinions on people from Hollywood stereotypes.

    Anyway, I’d like to apologise for totally derailing BOAB81’s post. I’m a wannabe historian, history is my hobby and I really can’t stay away from most discussions that deal with it. It does worry me that folks would use historically inaccurate works to form opinions but that seems to happen too often.

    • @eccentricyoruba,

      I get all of your points and I stand by mine. I normally speak from my personal truth or that of my family members and their personal accounts related to me. I have traveled outside of the States not extensively, by any stretch of the imagination, as some of you. However, if one pays attention to what’s going on in the world, they will see as I see that others don’t always view Black people in the most positive light. There’s also myriad of reasons for it too. We can’t control the media or any forms of social media for that matter. I would obliterate half the videos on YT and World Star Hip Hop (that site is just…..oh god…*o__O*) if I could. I’m not a historian, but I was blessed to have educators in my family, so books and research and documentaries were a part of my youth. My father sparked that part of me that likes to know more about other cultures outside of my own, from a very early age.

      It’s really not about me being wide-eyed and optimistic but Realistic from my perspective. We live in an imperfect world and Hollywood is the epitome of imperfect, but one thing is for sure. Hollywood sure as hell won’t get it right if we boycott or turn away from everything that has to do with race. Hollywood execs have NO INCENTIVE other than “greenback” to make anybody’s movie. So boycotting a movie like The Help will only tell Hollywood they don’t need to make movies about race At All. There’s a saying, “Who are ya gonna believe me or your lying eyes?” to this I would add, that one should never take movies as the “gospel” and always remember that they are just someone’s interpretation. Movies are mainly to entertain…..that’s it. If anyone is looking to get a COMPLETE historical perspectives regarding Anybody’s culture (not just black culture) from a movie, you may as well stay home and save that movie money. However, If they spark discussions/debates or the need to learn more and soak up more details then that, to me, should be the ultimate goal of this type of movie. This is what The Help did for Nichkhun and if he is reading these comments, I would encourage him to also seek further information on the African-American struggle so that he can find out what the rest of us already know, that it was not and is not a pretty struggle wrapped up with a pretty bow on top. It’s tough, it’s hard and it’s ongoing. However, I would still say that ANY recognition of that struggle, even a little bit, within the mainstream is not a bad thing. If recognition is to be had then It Is the mainstream that SHOULD do the recognizing…hell and then some. IMHO.

      Nichkhun…..you don’t know what you started boyfriend. (SMILES) Keep enlightening your circle of friends about our struggle my friend. (SMILES)

      • @BiAlamode:

        Wow, what a very eloquent response! I have been reading the comments and was hesitant to reply since we all know how the topice of race can get very divisive. I have seen the Help and thought it was a very good movie. It deals with an ugly part of our past and while I can understand people not wanting to constantly “relive” our racial history, it is a part of our history and we can’t ignore that. Being Hispanic and Black, I have dealt with issues from both sides. Every race has their past that is not so pretty. Movies like this actually help people from other countries to become more “enlightened” as to what African Americans have gone through. I would much rather have foreigners see the Help and maybe this will encourage them to do more research on the history of Black people, than another “drop it like it’s hot” rap video.

        The sad part about this is that Khunnie was really trying to get people so see this movie to show racial discord and I am sure did it with a pure heart. Unfortunately, people have twisted something that was done with goodness into a bad thing.

      • I don’t think you got all of my points, there seems to be a misunderstanding so I’ll clarify. I am not saying that people should boycott ‘The Help’ because it deals with race. No, not at all. My issues with The Help, especially the book since I’ve read that and will not be seeing the movie is that it reproduces racist perspectives and is not historically accurate. I didn’t watch 300 for the same reason 😀

        My issue here is not that ‘The Help’ focuses on African American maids in the Jim Crow era or that it deals with race however sanitary, it is that the story revolves around and is told from the perspective of a privileged white woman. I’d be happier if stories like ‘The Help’, written by and from the perspectives of African American women got as much attention. I just think it’s ironic in a way, yes ‘The Help’ does highlight the kind of racism maids face(d) but at the same time the real-life maid who was used as an ‘inspiration’ for one of the characters in the book is suing because her name and likeness were used without permission. Funny, a post on this topic came up when I posted my earlier comment; Choosing between The Help or Faces at the Bottom of the Well: On Reproducing Racially-Easy Work or Constructing Courageously.

        I want Hollywood to make films that deal with race, that are entertaining but also critique society. This is why I love ‘Attack The Block’, a British production about aliens that attack an apartment complex in South London leaving it up to a gang of (mostly) Black teenage boys to defend their homes, families and selves. ‘Attack The Block’ deals with almost everything, racism, classism, gang culture, drugs, etc but in its heart it is a very entertaining movie that had me on the edge of my seat when the aliens showed up.

        Movies entertain but they also do more than that, they form ideas, transmit all sorts of messages. But you’re right, the mainstream should be doing the recognition!

        I think we’re alike in a way, books, research and documentaries are a huge part of my life. I’m pretty sure I’m going to be an educator when I grow up a bit more. However, I have grown impatient with the mainstream and I actually believe that we can take control however little. I don’t think we should wait for Hollywood to take notice either. I actually think we have options (indie, the Internet) and can make a difference.

        I

      • ” If anyone is looking to get a COMPLETE historical perspectives regarding Anybody’s culture (not just black culture) from a movie, you may as well stay home and save that movie money. However, If they spark discussions/debates or the need to learn more and soak up more details then that, to me, should be the ultimate goal of this type of movie. This is what The Help did for Nichkhun and if he is reading these comments, I would encourage him to also seek further information on the African-American struggle so that he can find out what the rest of us already know, that it was not and is not a pretty struggle wrapped up with a pretty bow on top. It’s tough, it’s hard and it’s ongoing. However, I would still say that ANY recognition of that struggle, even a little bit, within the mainstream is not a bad thing. If recognition is to be had then It Is the mainstream that SHOULD do the recognizing…hell and then some. IMHO. ”
        Ooh girl, you said it!

  16. I don’t want to run this point in the ground, but I will share this and then I’m done. This is why I feel it’s important to support the films that tell our stories, because when we support them…..Hollywood takes notice. When Hollywood takes notice, more of our stories get made. We have another one our stories on the horizon to look forward to for those who aren’t aware. I just became aware of this one today. Since, I work at an HBCU in the Transportation dept., this story really “hits home” so to speak. It will be out Jan. 20th. So Nichkhun, check this one out too.

    http://blogs.indiewire.com/shadowandact/watch-anthony-hemingway-explain-how-he-became-the-director-of-red-tails-meeting-george-lucas-and-more

    @AngelFace, Thank you, just speaking from the heart.

  17. Ooooo this Thai prince has me falling hard for him lol. I’m actually watching WGM: Khuntoria right now, and I’m loving it! As far as watching the Help, I’ll pass on that one. However, I do think people who aren’t aware of racism from that time period should see movies like “The Help” and others like it. Or even better, read books/watch shows or movies written from the actual AAs who lived during that time period.

    • @Afromorena: Isn’t he a dollbaby?! I saw him in Mnet scandal where he dated a fan for a week, and *sigh*….he seems like he would be the perfect boyfriend. But after a while, I could see dating someone with his job becoming very tiresome. But the memories…oh the memories!

Leave a Reply

