Battle of the Blondes: Who Does it Best?

La! La! Laaaaa-aahhh ahhh! I wanna play a game! It’s amusing how everyone’s comments seem to inspire me. Asian men as blonde’s hmmmmmm, What does everyone think of this popular trend? Imagine you finally snag a hot Asian guy or already have one and he comes walkin in your door with newly styled blonde hair.How would you react? What if it looks really crappy, would you tell him?Because I care about you all and this situation could totally happen (IT  COULD! Shhh!) I feel it’s best to prepare jusst in case.

Below are images of Idols who have gone to the Light Side. Which one pulls off blonde the best? If they were standing in front of you what would you say!?

From Top Left to Right: Kevin U-KISS, Nick Hun 2PM, Hong Ki, FT Island, Taemin SHINee, Jong Hyun SHINee, Jae Joong JYJ, DBSK etc. Eli U-KISS, G Dragon Big Bang, Jay Park (Click to enlarge duhhh ^_^)

K-Kisses! KrisE

68 thoughts on “Battle of the Blondes: Who Does it Best?

  1. Out of the pix above, GD rocks it the best. Then, Eli and Taemin. Most of the idols that are or have been blonde really shouldn’t be blonde. It doesn’t match well with their skintone. Maybe if the hairtstylists picked the right shade to match their skin tone, then it wouldn’t so bad. I think I liked blonde the most on GD and CL of 2NE1.

  2. True! Some Asians can do blonde well and others don’t. GDragon and T.O.P. are fine. Jaejoong is cool as a blonde. Jaebeom as a blonde?! Not too crazy. Others up there are OK!

  3. KrisE,

    Well KrisE, you know how I feel about the Asians with blonde hair. Some look okay but most really do look like Albinos :). I say that with only love in my heart since I have snagged a very hot (at least to me) Asian man (google Japanese actor Oguri Shun and you will get a visual of my handsome hubby–no Shun is obviously not my hubby but could be his twin). Anyway, I digress! Trust me, if my husband were to come home one day with blond hair, I would walk him right back into the salon and get it dyed again.

    In my opinion most Asians do not look good with the blond hair due to the sallowness of their skin. Some, can rock it very well. G Dragon looks AMAZING as a blonde. Taemin and Key also pull it off very well, when they have a little color to their skin. Jay Park and Nickhuhn—Yikes (big fail). And there is also one person not mentioned here but Eunhyuk from SUJU or as my daughter Mika calls him (the Unfortunate looking one-lol). Surprisingly, blonde hair has done Wonders for him and he looks very good with it. But in the end, it is just not a good look for most Asians.

    Take care 🙂

    • haha thats why I started the battle because of our conversation. And O.M.G your husband looks like him?! Hes def a hottie then, two thumbs way up lolol

      • KrisE,

        I’m touched that my crazy thoughts inspired you. LOL! And yes, I do believe that my husband is a hottie in my eyes but that hottie right now is working my VERY LAST NERVE!! How can a grown man with a common cold become so helpless? You would swear that he has Pneumonia with the way that he is carrying on right now. (Keep repeating Angelica “For better or for worse, through sickness and in health and ’till death do us part). I can do this, I can do this, I can do this! LOL!

      • @Angelface

        How can a grown man with a common cold become so helpless?

        Rofl! I just watched a comedienne doing a skit about that. Too cute!

      • haha I have a cold too and its making me slightly miserable since I’m working on 50 things at once but yeah I noticed guys are so weak. The moment something hurts them they fall to pieces and try to completely milk the situation for everything its worth lol

    • Taeminnie I prefer with the “Lucifer” hair color and cut. Have you seen his hair in the “Hello” mv? Sooooooo bad seriously that color is not for him.

    • Michelle,

      I think Taemin looks good with blond hair but his hair (or weave) in Lucifer, was his best look IMO! His red hair is okay and it definitely makes him look older and more masculine.

  4. I don’t mind it so much on Jay Park. What happened to TOP? He can pull off any color. I have to say though I am happy that BiRain never dyed his hair blonde.

    • @ Lei,

      Technically, Bi hasn’t dyed his hair blonde, blonde like these guys above….but he has had hairstyles with blonde streaks. Also, his hair was much lighter during his New Year’s eve ADIEU concert. The poodle “do” I call it. That’s the closest I’ve seen Bi come to blonde.

  5. Just like Nicole said..some people can wear it well while others should call it quits.

    Now with these guys..I just don’t think a lot of them look right wearing blonde hair,but the only guy(s) that come close to looking right in it are JaeJoong and Kevin.

  6. YUMMY!

    For me, I usually don’t like blonde on K-Pop guys. It’s always two kinds -platinum or orange-y- but it can work for some people. The trick is in the haircut itself. Like Kevin’s (U-KISS) haircut and orangey/brown cut from Neverland looks delish on him. Really compliments his face.

    But I don’t like it on Jae Joong. His dark brown/highlights look from Mirotic best suits him, to me. I’ve never seen that cut suit anyone more than him.

    It looks terrible on JongHyun. Yuck.
    I don’t care for it on Jay Park, either.
    On Eli and Hong Ki, it’s okay, but nothing special.

    So, again, for me, it depends on the haircut and skintone.

    • I def agree that its all about the haircut. Alot of these guys look so good because they have the perfect face framing cut. Its soo warped how I look at their hair styles as a reference for my own lol I really like Hong Ki’s bangs in that picture and kevins side sweep lolol

      • @Kris

        I can agree that out of all the pics, Hong Ki wears it the best. He’s the type that I would think looks odd in black hair! lol. G-Dragon looks pretty cute, too, though. But the hair and the design on his face just looks so different from the b-boy way he looks in all of the pics I saw yesterday. Hard to believe it’s the same guy.

        And I completely agree on Jae Joong -he’s ridiculously pretty. And he just works that chest and those abs. Mmm Hmmm! *slurpage*

        My favorite Kevin has to be Neverland Kevin. The moment I saw him I was in “lub” and the fact that he’s American and speaks (and tweets!) English just cinched it for me. Total doll-baby.

    • Ooooo! Eli is also American! He’s from D.C or something. GD’s blonde look was from 2009 thats when he was super skinny. He was hot but I’m glad he doesnt look that way now. It is weird seeing Hong Ki with dark hair!!! Dont even get me started on Jae Joong oppa I have 2 and half epiosdes of ‘Protect the Boss’ left to watch and he just kills me. Hes actually a good actor and hes soo funny. Plus his smile is crazy cute; I really dont understand how he looks like that he seriously is not human.

      • @Kris

        I didn’t know Eli was American -I love it! 😀

        I don’t watch any K-dramas. My best friend scared me off of those early on. She had warned me about how so many actors there committed suicide (along with other kinds of celebrities) and she knows how “attached” I get to things/people I like. She was afraid I’d “luv” on one of them and suffer if something happened. I ended up getting into the pop music, but I’m still leery about making the jump to dramas. Plus, I’m not a soap opera/novella person in general, so I haven’t felt too compelled to go there.

        <.< Though, Jae joong could become the exception…

      • Actually later this evening when I finish all my work and what not I’m going to be starting a Kdrama review section on the blog. I’ve been planning it out for a few days now and I think its needed.
        I will tell you this about Kdramas and I’m actually being serious. They are really really good and addicting. They will introduce you to alot of good looking actors and Idols who frequent them. They always have amazing OST’s (original soundtracks) so it will help broaded your kpop taste.
        The only thing about them and this is somewhat of a warning because MANY people have gotten messed up lol If you are overly sensitive they will get to you. All Kdrama’s are made with the intention of getting to womens hearts. Your sense of reality can easily be altered by them. Kdramas are what literally changed my whole reality lolol

      • @Kris

        A drama section is a good idea, actually.

        My anime fandom friends have been telling me about “drama addiction” for a couple of years now (They watch J-dramas). I’d just laugh and shake my head (that was waaaaay before I got into K-pop), but now I understand a bit better. I’ve actually listened to some of the OSTs that have been put out for k-dramas. They didn’t grab me, but I think it would have been different if I actually watched the dramas they came from. I may give them a shot in the future (at least one of the ones deemed awesome), but for now, I’m still trying to learn k-pop groups. I’m still pretty new so there is a lot of history and groups I either never heard of, or heard of but never listened to. For example, F.T. Island. I heard one song of theirs and didn’t like it, so I never listened to anything again. (Very bad habit with me!).

        And what is the meaning of “fighting”? I’m assuming it means something like, “[Insert group name] FTW!”, but I wouldn’t mind knowing for sure. lol.

    • This is why you need kdrama’s in your life so you can understand where alot of the terms come from lolol “Fighting” is used when you want to encourage and motivate..its used to give support.

      • @Kris

        “This is why you need kdrama’s in your life so you can understand where alot of the terms come from lolol”

        LOL. I think I may be knee deep in their stuff as it is!

    • DaGrrrl,

      I totally agree with you about the blonde color on K-Pop idols. It’s rarely a good color of blond and is typically this orangey-dirty blond color that just does not look good with their skin. I also just don’t think that Jaejoong looks good as a blonde. To be honest (and don’t kill me), I really don’t think he is cute at all. My daughter thinks he is so “pretty”. I think he’s alright (he has pretty lips) but not drool worthy : ).

      • @Angelface

        LOL! I’m so not gonna get on ya over JaeJoong (He’s not even my bias!)! What first attracted me to him was his body, not his face (Mirotic MV, when he’s walking down the hall? WOW. He had swag 4eva!). But as I saw more pics of him (in that haircut), I was like, he’s so cute! But with me, it’s always the haircut and how it compliments the face. He’s had some blonde and big hairstyles that made him look awful. So I think it really depends on the day (and I think his lips are probably the least attractive part of him for me. I dunno.. too red and poofy. lol.).

      • Pssh I’m gonna get on Angel over Jae Joong oppa!!! haha He’s sooo pretty and precious looking It makes me want to be a major weirdo and tell him “hey just sit in front of me dont talk and let me stare at you” lololol

  7. Eeeeeek!!……………………I barely know any of these guys. Joonie I know and Taemin only because so many of you love him. However, if I had to chose who visually looks the best with the blonde hair from the 10 photos above (IMO). I pick Jae Joong and that’s only what looks appealing to My eye, but the blonde in general…..not crazy about.

    • Ok, ok my turn sooo excited!!! Umm so Jae Joong oppa to me is the best blonde and not because it looks natural but because for one thing hes really really unworldly alienish pretty. He looks so angelic and delicate that i just want to gently cup his face and squeal “Guiyuhwoon namja!!” (cute guy in Korean). Plus like I always say hes 2nd in line if things dont work out with Kim Hyun Joong ^_^ Although Eli, Kevin, GD and Taeminnie all pull off the look the only one that really looks the most natural with it is Hong Ki.
      Also he has a some what very western look to him which is why he really pulls it off. To really grasp how natural he looks as a blonde you should watch the drama ‘You’re Beautiful’ he plays Jeremy; or you can just watch some of FT Islands mvs.

      JongHyun, Nick Hun and Jay Park need to never even look towards the light side again.

      • @KrisE,

        Ok, I’ll check out that drama. I agree Jae Joong does look other worldly, but the blonde on him matches his features better, at least to me anyway. (SMILES)

  8. Yeah, I have to agree in reference to Jay Park not being able to pull off wearing blonde hair because the first time I saw picture of him with it on Twitter…I was actually frightened.

    I think my favorite Asian guy as a blonde is Kevin Woo.

    • Choi Min Jung says:

      “Yeah, I have to agree in reference to Jay Park not being able to pull off wearing blonde hair because the first time I saw picture of him with it on Twitter…I was actually frightened”.

      ROFLOL! I needed that laugh right now. Thanks :).

  9. “DaGrrrl says:
    @Angelface

    How can a grown man with a common cold become so helpless?

    Rofl! I just watched a comedienne doing a skit about that. Too cute!”

    DaGrrrl,

    Well, I could do a skit right now but it definitely would not be a comedy. LOL! Even our 5 year old is looking at him like “get over it Daddy, it’s a cold”. It’s going to be a very loooong weekend : ). Oh well.

  10. @KrisE A K-drama review section? That might be fun and fortunately not every K-drama will pull too tight on your heartstrings. Choi Siwon was in “Oh My Lady” and although there were serious moments, the show overall was hilarious.

    • O.M.G There were moments I literally cried from laughter watching “Protect the Boss” and “My Name is/My Lovely Sam Soon”. Some of those dramas are seriously hilarious.

  11. “KrisE says:

    Actually later this evening when I finish all my work and what not I’m going to be starting a Kdrama review section on the blog. I’ve been planning it out for a few days now and I think its needed.
    I will tell you this about Kdramas and I’m actually being serious. They are really really good and addicting”.

    KrisE,

    That is a great idea! I’ve been waiting for some blogs about K-Dramas as well as J-Dramas. J-Dramas are really good IMO. They are a little more “adult” than K-Dramas, so some are not for the kiddies. Most of the K-Dramas are versions of previously released J-Dramas. I’ve been watching J-Dramas, as well as K-Dramas for years.

    You are so right about the addicting part. My family has spent many a bleary eyed morning after being up until the wee hours of the morning watching these dramas. Once you start, it’s hard to stop. LOL! We watch more K-Dramas and J-Dramas than “real” tv in our house. We are watching like 5 right now and switch between the shows nightly :).

    Great suggestion : ).

    • Same here I dont even watch regular tv anymore. Between kpop and dramas I’ve seriously seperated myself from American entertainment lol I’ve spent wayyyy to many late nights also watching. I feel like I need Kdrama rehab lolol The only thing is I dont watch Jdramas or listen to Jpop because I dont want to get confused. I’m in the process of learning to speak Korean and I’m at the stage right now where I can recognize words and grasp the gist of the conversation. Also when I use English I’m begining to think of the Korean translations in my head at the same time so I dont want some random Japanese word to throw me off lolol

      • KrisE,

        I hear you on the language confusion. I am completely fluent in Japanese and go to the Jay Park Korean Language School–conversational in Korean, but just not-very-good : ). I think speaking Japanese has made it much harder for me to learn Korean, because my mind keeps translating it a different way; or maybe I’m just too stupid to learn it correctly because my daughter picked it up in less than a year, and speaks it better than most Koreans. LOL!

        I too need K-Drama rehab. It’s amazing that once you watch your first drama, it just spoils you for regular tv. Right now, I’m currently watching Protect the Boss, Secret Garden, Tokyo Dogs, Hana Yori Dango (for the 3rd time with my daughter Mika), and Personal Taste. It’s crazy!!

      • @Angelface

        You and Kris’ posts just scare me! I’m so sucked into so many things (manga, anime, fanfiction, fanart, k-pop…) that if I add one more I know I’d be doomed!

      • I’m almost done with Protect the Boss I’ll be finished with it tonight actually. Secret Garden I love that dramaaaaaaa! Even having lost weight Hyun Bin is still a god haha And like I was saying in another post I love his sparkly sequin blue tracksuit I want one lol

        DaGrrl,
        Yes you will be doomed just wait for my first drama post tonight *Evil laugh*

  12. I have so very American shows I watch also. They are either stupid or if somewhate good they will be cancelled. Also they will drag out a storyline until you want them to cancel the show. Friends, Lost-both were fave shows but got dragged out wayyy too long. I love how K-Dramas finish up after a season and keep it moving and fresh. I have only watched 4 so far and trust, that is only because I don’t have internet at home. Which might be a good thing for me. I was mentioning to Bitofabelly before it would be fun if we all starting watching one none of us have seen yet and then discuss it afterwards. So your blog would be perfect for that. I am just on the last episode of SamSoon and open for a suggestion. I would like more of a comedy, these romantic comedies are killing my heart emotionally.

    • hmmmm Protect the Boss is hilarious and the lead girl is the opposite of most Kdrama leads which I think you will appreciate. The relationships and interactions between the friends and family members are really good and hilarious. Plus Jae Joong is in it ^_^

  13. “DaGrrrl says:

    @Angelface

    You and Kris’ posts just scare me! I’m so sucked into so many things (manga, anime, fanfiction, fanart, k-pop…) that if I add one more I know I’d be doomed!”

    DaGrrrl,

    Total agreement with KrisE, you are doomed, it’s over :). That’s why we are in the midst of watching 5 shows at home, it’s insane. I went to sleep last night and then woke up at 1:00 am. As I walked past my daughter’s room,I could see a light shining from underneath her door. She had her laptop in bed and was watching You’re Beautiful. She was like, ‘Mom don’t even yell at me for still being awake, because I know that you are going downstairs with your laptop to watch some dramas”. LOL. Like I said you are doomed because it’s an addiction : ).

    • @Angelface

      She was like, ‘Mom don’t even yell at me for still being awake, because I know that you are going downstairs with your laptop to watch some dramas”

      LOL! She had you there! 😛

      I’m going to make a strong effort to resist the call of the drama. I’ll never get anything done if I succumb at this point! But I know my breaking point will be if anyone I really adore gets cast. Then I think it’s pretty much a done deal!

  14. DaGrrrl says:

    @Angelface

    LOL! I’m so not gonna get on ya over JaeJoong (He’s not even my bias!)! What first attracted me to him was his body, not his face (Mirotic MV, when he’s walking down the hall? WOW. He had swag 4eva!). But as I saw more pics of him (in that haircut), I was like, he’s so cute! But with me, it’s always the haircut and how it compliments the face. He’s had some blonde and big hairstyles that made him look awful. So I think it really depends on the day (and I think his lips are probably the least attractive part of him for me. I dunno.. too red and poofy. lol.).”

    DaGrrrl,

    It’s so funny what is attractive to people. If I saw him in person, the only thing that I would probably focus on are his lips : ).

    “KrisE says:

    Pssh I’m gonna get on Angel over Jae Joong oppa!!! haha He’s sooo pretty and precious looking It makes me want to be a major weirdo and tell him “hey just sit in front of me dont talk and let me stare at you” lololol”

    KrisE,

    I figured that would get to you! As I was cooking dinner, my daughter Mika saw my post on Jae Joong on my laptop and has been showing me picture after picture of him trying to convince me of “how pretty he is” and “why are you being so weird Mom-he’s hot”. LOL. Um, I’m sorry, I just don’t see it. Blond or not, he’s just kinda average to me : ). Beautiful voice though!

    • Yessss his voice is sooooo nice *melts*. You know what they need to do…there needs to be a drama with both him and Kim Hyun Joong playing brothers or cousins cuz they sorta look similar to each other. That drama would probably give me major heart failure but it would be soo worth it. Although hmmm say I married Kim Hyun Joong since Jae Joong is his bff that means I’de get to see both of them when I walked down the aisle or even vice versa they both would be standing there…..talk about a FANTASTIC FANTASY! hahaha

    • @Angelface

      Mika saw my post on Jae Joong on my laptop and has been showing me picture after picture of him trying to convince me of “how pretty he is” and “why are you being so weird Mom-he’s hot”.

      Haha! She’s awesome. 😛
      Jae Joong is pretty, though. Gotta give him that credit where it’s due! xD

      • DaGrrrl and KrisE,

        Okay, maybe I spoke too soon about Jae Joong! After watching the 1st 6 episodes of Protect the Boss, I will admit that I was “ahem” Wrong (and I hate to admit when I am wrong), about Jae Joong. He really is good-looking. The more I watched this show, the prettier he became : ).

      • @Angelface

        I knew you’d change your mind! ^_____^
        That boy is FINE. lol.
        You got me wanting to see protect the boss >.>

      • Angelface,

        Oh whats that you say? “spoke too soon” hmm? There was def something wrong with you yesterday, glad you discovered the error of your ways lol But now you will forever be under the spell of Jae Joong be prepared lol

  15. Jaejoong is quite adorable with his blonde hair/rocker look. But I have to say I prefer the sexy, dark hair…black is my favorite color after all. I think TOP had his blonde too, even though he’s not listed, he was hot in it.

  16. @Kris

    He’s sooo pretty and precious looking It makes me want to be a major weirdo and tell him “hey just sit in front of me dont talk and let me stare at you” lololol

    LOL. I can totally see you doing it, too!

    • Yes the sad part is I’m crazy enough that you can really picture me doing that lolol I seriously would though. It should be a rule if anyone dates or becomes friends with Jae Joong he must allow them 5 minutes of uninterrupted staring hahah

      • @ Kris & Angelface

        Been checking out google just now and I take it all back! Jae Joong has gorgeous lips! xD I don’t know what was up with those other pics I saw, but now that I’ve seen a wide range of photos, I think I can faint properly now. xD
        Found some beautiful art for him, too. It was worth passing on!

        Divinity in White!

  17. DaGrrrl and KrisE,

    Yes, yes, yes, I have definitely did a complete 360 with Jae Joong. That man is Beautiful! And yes, KrisE, there must have “definitely been something wrong with me yesterday-LOL!” I kinda hate that I was late jumping on the Jae Joong bandwagon. I took my daughter and her friend to see JYJ in concert last year and spent the majority of the show “zoning out” since I was not into them and couldn’t see what all the fuss was about. Oh well, my loss : (.

    DaGrrrrl, I would def recommend that you watch Protect the Boss. I have never laughed so much at K-drama in my life. Mika and I were up until 4:30 am and I can honestly say that this is one of the best dramas that I have watched. All of the characters are amazing!

      • I know right? To see that card board cut out of No Eun Seol with the bandaids covering the dart marks and how Ji Heon reacted when his father almost broke the head off the cut out. LOL! Mika and I were rolling on the floor laughing : ).

  18. DaGrrrl says:

    @ Kris & Angelface

    Been checking out google just now and I take it all back! Jae Joong has gorgeous lips! xD I don’t know what was up with those other pics I saw, but now that I’ve seen a wide range of photos, I think I can faint properly now. xD
    Found some beautiful art for him, too. It was worth passing on!”

    DaGrrrl,

    That picture is drool worthy. LOL! My daughter has this Gif on her iPhone where Jae Joong is licking his lips and tossing his hair and she typed the words “I know you like this!”. I have a CRAZY daughter. I wonder where she gets that from : ).

  19. Pingback: Battle of The Most Dramatic Music Videos! | Black Women Love 비

Leave a Reply

