October 11 Is the Day

October 11, 2011 is the day that our Bi has been scheduled to enlist in the South Korean military, to serve a 2-year term of mandatory service, according to a kindly note posted by him on his official website. We all knew this day was coming. I can’t believe it came around so fast. But just as Stephe at CloudUSA pointed out, it will be here before we know it and we’ll be celebrating his return.

Bi enlisting in the South Korean military will be equivalent to a 2-year-drought

I would really like to know what he’s thinking right now, not in an invasive way, but rather to empathize with him as much as is possible. No doubt he’s taking care of business to shut his civilian endeavors down, and saying goodbye to people that have made an impression in his life.

I don’t think he’ll truly know how much we’ll miss him. But in the meantime, let’s wish him well and hope that those two years fly by. Oh just to imagine! He’ll be in his 30s and more manly, mature and sexy as ever. I really look forward to it!

49 thoughts on “October 11 Is the Day

  1. My “book like” comments are over on Cloud USA, but I do want to acknowledge Baby Love over here too. I’m sure a lot of self reflection is going on in his mind right now, probably some “nerves” (let’s face it) but he’s probably looking forward to doing and completing his duty so he can get back to the stage, his fans and start a new chapter in his life.

    As I said to him at Cloud USA, Bi you are about to perform on a “new stage” and I have No Doubt you will perform on That “stage” with the same aplomb. We’ll be here waiting for you to return Boo…..don’t you worry about that!

  2. Well, I imagine he’s wondering how he’s going to manage not actively working on his career for six weeks of basic training and I can see how he would! Some years ago, the Media would always ask him when he was going to take some real time off for himself, and he said probably never because he couldn’t go more than a few days without grabbing his phone, working on a project, putting together this, checking up on that… he’d already tried and he just couldn’t.

    Frankly, I wouldn’t last a week (without freaking out), he said.

    Now he’s going to have to. I think the hard training will keep his brain distracted from what he’s NOT doing, though, and at night he’ll be too tired to do anything but pass out.

    I also think he’s anticipating some enjoyment in it because, for the first time in along time, he can just be one of the boys, and throw his testosterone around like whoaaaaaaa. He can just be JiHoon and not Rain, most of the time, anyway.

    Just some of my thoughts…

    • I just had a funny thought. When you mention, he will have to “re-wire” his brain. The first time they tell him….no Yell at him….”drop and give me 100 soldier, NOW!” His immediate reaction will want to go into…..”Hmpf, what?? I’m Rain” for a split second until he realizes…not there, my friend You are “regular people” now. Then he’ll think “Damn, I REALLY do have to drop and do 100. Sir, Yes Sir!!”….Priceless…….
      (SMILES)

      • kekekeke yeah, some good ol’ culture shock, bless him!

        His stubborness is really going to serve him well, too. He’ll use the same mantra that he does for the stage… “I’m Rain and I’ll show them. Oh, I’ll SHOW them.” 🙂

    • @DynasticQueen: yes, it’s great that he’s going to be FORCED to not have to think like he has for the past decade, and he can just be with the boys. He can just be Jihoon. I’m really happy for him that way ^^

  3. A new chapter… Yeah, a new chapter IS coming, isn’t it? 😀

    He started his transition into a Grown Man early this year, remember? That transition is going to continue through his military service, for sure, so that when he gets out (though he’ll never stop singing) he’ll be ready to devote himself to his acting career here in the States. He is dead serious about that. And lordy, at 32 and beyond, the man is going to be devastatingly dangerous. I can’t even imagine how I’m going to be able to just LOOK at him without swooning like some fool. LOL!

    Gah.

    • @DynasticQueen,

      I’m already swooning thinking about that bare chested, buzzed cut, soldier all TAN in “camis”…..Lawdy! Yes, the new chapter Can Not Wait! (SMILES)

      • @BiAlamode: ooooh lawd and just think he’s gonna have all this sexual frustration pent up in that hot, bare chested, TANned bod of his….oooooh dear whoever’s gonna be the recipient of that tension once he gets out had better start preparing right now!! lol
        *sigh*…if only….

  4. BWWWAAAAAA, Boo woo 😦 I haven’t’ felt this bad over a celebrity since the day Michael died!!!! We all knew this day was coming. I wasn’t ready for it just yet though. However, I am glad the date is set and we all can move forward with him.

    BiAlamode, I read your comments over on Cloud and yes, some of us are prayerful and will pray for him and all others in the military. I was thinking earlier this week (when several religious leaders from S. Korea headed North for peace keeping efforts,) I hope N. Korea doesn’t decide this is the time to become more rebellious. Especially since Bi is enlisting soon. We can pray that peace remains, not just for Bi but all of S. Korea Military. We also have our own military woes.
    What is he thinking…probably about the accomplishments he has achieved, love from the fans all over the world and his family is well taken cared for. I hope he is at peace.

    Bi, just know we all support you and know your beautiful mother is looking down from heaven beaming with light and proud of her son!!! You honor her daily with the love you’ve shown people all across the world: always the gentleman, always humble. As the old adage goes “Absence make the heart grow fonder” You’ll be missed, but once you return……. you will be better than ever. God Bless!!!

      • I’m trying to re-vamp my mini-story now. I find that you can end up in constant tweak mode. I’m a newbie, so you seasoned fanfic-kers…….let her rip! (SMILES)

    • @LadyOrchid,

      Yeah, Bi’s enlistment is “tugging” at my heart strings a little bit more than I thought it would. Here I am trying to be “Skrong” and I feel myself wanting to say “don’t leave me Boo!” (HA!) But seriously, prayer goes a long way (IMB) and that’s the best thing I know to do for him, as well as the other enlistees. We can’t forget Bi is not the only one enlisting. Like you I also feel he has a very special Guardian Angel looking down and watching over him right now, so all will be well….I feel.

  5. NOOO RAIN DON’T GO!! I’m really going to miss Mr. Ji Hoon, he’s the person that introduced me to Kdramas and Kpop in 2009 after watching his first staring role Hollywood film, Ninja Assassin. I’m going to be sad for 2 years, I just hope that he stays safe and comes back with awesome songs, movies and dramas. It’s the strangest thing that you posted this today, BOAB81 because I, by pure luck, saw a man on the street that looked JUST LIKE RAIN (a little bit shorter though LOL) he even had the same “Rainism” hair cut, I freaked and almost passed out (just kidding) 🙂 but I was freaking out and was super excited. On October 11th I will be watching a TON of Rain’s videos on YouTube as a sort of “sending away party” to our man. And to Rain I say, I love you and will miss you :(.

    @LadyOrchid, you too!! I cried for I don’t know how many days when Michael Jackson died and when I watched Michael’s Memorial on TV the waterworks started all over again especially with Jermaine singing Michael’s favorite song, Smile. Oh God, it was just too much!

    • I took it hard too. I grew up watching Michael. I was balling my eyes out when (I think it was) Jesse Jackson that told everyone that Michael was a father and not a monster. I thought then no one in the media was thinking of his children with the mean and hurtful things were being said. When Paris spoke and Janet hugged her…….

  6. Boy, I knew this was coming, October’s right around the corner. Wow, I’m speechless. I wish him the best, and when he comes out, there will be a bunch of fan’s waiting for him.

  7. I’m crying right now. I’m taking it so hard. I’ll miss him for the next 2 years. 😦 Bi, just be safe and serve your country proud.

  8. BiAlamode & Lei….. Starting the slutty mode already??!!!! Ha, ha!!!! Heck, it is Friday 🙂 So ladies we shouldn’t feel sad. There is going to be a lot of “Grown Folks Talk* among us…..

    @ Jiani *happy dance* 🙂 Oh yeah, I spelled fiction wrong too

  9. Not news that Bi fans want to hear,but he’s got to do what he’s required to do. A lot of K-pop fans should give him props for uplifting it and South Korea. I wouldn’t doubt if K-pop entertainment execs is feeling as blue as we do about. I definitely wish for the best for him and hope that he comes out of the military with a bang.

  10. Ow man…. I knew this day was coming. I really thought for some reason he would leave in Dec. I’m gonna miss him. Hopefully, we’ll get some pics or some updates.. Please.. I promised my self I wasn’t gonna cry, but u know the first time I see the pic if him with that buzz cut saying goodbye, I gonna cry like a baby, bawling my eyes out. I kinda gotta see it to believe it,esp in this case. Atleast, i can lean on yall for some support. I hope when he does come back I’m able to go to SK and welcome him back.. And the countdown begins

    • I thought he would be leaving in December too.
      To me, this is good news
      because I was really concerned
      that he would still be enlisted
      when one way or another
      the world as we know it
      may come to an end;
      and disappointed that,
      if indeed we were all still here,
      we might have to ring in 2013 without him…
      So, strangely enough,
      I am in a bit of a celebratory mood…
      Why he’ll be out in time for my birthday —
      November 3rd!

      • You know, I was thinking December too. For some reason I thought Bi would take some time off since he has being going full force all year. Not our Bi, the man ever rests…

        “when one way or another
        the world as we know it
        may come to an end;
        and disappointed that,
        if indeed we were all still here,
        we might have to ring in 2013 without him” Unless I hear Gabriel’s Horn, I will not fret over the 2012. Just like Y2K. It came and went. I’m with you though. It is a cause for celebrating, just think of all the new things Bi will be exposed to and will share with us. I don’t think he can resist the urge to reach out to his fans.

        When he comes back, I really hope the movie Richard Gere wants for him is “An Officer And A Gentleman.” It’s tailored made for him.:)

      • @lady orchid

        I was reading an interview that was translated. One of the questions asked BI his plans after MS, he said that he’ll do some projects/movies he’s been offered by Hollywood. He said that he’s been holding them off. So I really hope this means he’ll come to the US. If he does, I hope we know where. I would love to greet him @ the airport… OMG just imagine him walking through..swoon

      • @surkura,

        I think that’s exactly what it means. He has said that’s what he wanted to do. As DynasticQueen has said Bi, pretty much always does what he says he will. Like you, I look forward to him being on this side of the ocean for the next phase in his career.

        @Lady Orchid,

        My mind races when I think of the type of roles Bi could take on. I just hope Hollywood will be cooperative.

      • Lady Orchid, Surkura and BiAlamode:

        As far as December 21st, 2012 is concerned,
        I am not too worried about it.
        I mean, though a believer in the Planet X theory,
        among other things; really,
        what are we gonna do about it anyways.
        As far as the end of the world as we know it,
        REM sang about that years ago,
        and the worlds been around for over 2 decades since then;
        and there are also theories about awakenings,
        aside from a cosmic shift, another paradigm shift;
        like when Barack Obama was elected President —
        you could feel the energy change,
        and it was a world-wide phenomena.
        The meaning behind that election,
        whether you liked the man or not
        was powerful on so many levels.
        I recently had a young Chinese man
        explain to me what Barack Obama being elected President
        represented to him and that others in China felt the same —
        I was inspired and somewhat disturbed, in that
        he seemed to believe in the dream
        even more than I “did”…

        As far as movies upon his return…
        can I please get a shower scene…
        please!

      • There’s so many theories out there.. We will never know the day nor time. We just have to pray, get right and stay right with GOD.

        As far as movie roles goes. I think he could play any role. I would love a shower scene, love scene.. Hell any kind of scene. I’m all in

  11. He looks very cute in the fighter jet. I was only in Army Reserve Delayed Entry program 1999 and reported to Army Active Duty that I was in 1999 to 2000. I didn’t ever go to Korea like my orders indicated they kept me at the base I was at instead until I was released. I wasn’t ever in the Air Force and I don’t know how to fly any type of air craft not even a helicopter. There was an helicopter training school across the street from Federal Aviation Admin I worked at as a teen. I didn’t sign up for lessons because I was afraid and couldn’t afford it. I didn’t ever train to become an Air Traffic Control when the opportunity was offered at that time iether. That was a wonderful summer, I promoted the Indianapolis Federal Aviation Administration at the Black Expo. I moved out of the way when I was almost ran over near my booth by fan running my way trying to get to El DeBarge. I order my first El DeBarge album when I was in six grade, my mother was upset with me and I knew she would be that’s why I had order more then one album including other celeb’s for the trouble. Again, he looks very manly and cute in that fighter get. Very manly and strong.
    Djinn within your Djinn. It’s a shame Kim Hyun Joong isn’t near my age with such manly, strong,sexy, charming qualities, but I love him and will forever. I won’t decorate my bedroom nor any other part of my residence with his image. I like the European and Asian combination when it comes to comfort and style. Problems people stole all of my stuff, even though police, sheriff knew who stole my property they hadn’t ever returned it. Sorry for getting of the point. love ya.

  12. I have mixed feelings about mandatory military service. I know Koreans view this as a duty and to show their loyalty but I feel like if a man is going to put his life on the line, why not let it be a choice instead of a mandate. I know they had the military draft in this country at one time but I don’t think they have that here anymore….

    Oh well, it would have been better if Rain had gotten this done years ago. K-pop music is continuing to spread worldwide day by day and he needs to be around to help take the lead.

  13. Sukura,
    “As far as movie roles goes. I think he could play any role. I would love a shower scene, love scene.. Hell any kind of scene. I’m all in” I know BI can play any role; I just was referring to Richard Gere because it made big news. If a sequel to NA is in the works with Raizo and Mika pairing up……. I think we will all have a screen-gasm. Those two had serious chemistry. I can’t wait to see Bi working here in the states once his military obligations over. 🙂

    Choi, ” I know they had the military draft in this country at one time but I don’t think they have that here anymore…. “Not since Vietnam, however young men between the ages of 18-25 are still required to register for selective service though.

    • I remember. BI had a meeting with Mr. Gere.I had a crush on him when I was little and many more. Thanks alot mom..lol. I agree it would awesome, a remake of An Officer and a Gentleman. Oh my, Bi would be amazing. Would love to see him in that white uniform. He would definitely have women of all ages swooning. He would just radiant off of the screen. That uniform, the body, his voice is soo sexy, the charisma, and everything that makes u love him. OMG, I gotta to stop, because the man is dangerous to my health. Rain u got my heartbeat running away. Beating like a drum… Listening to Superbass

    • I remember. BI had a meeting with Mr. Gere.I had a crush on him when I was little and many more. Thanks alot mom..lol. I agree it would awesome, a remake of An Officer and a Gentleman. Oh my, Bi would be amazing. Would love to see him in that white uniform. He would definitely have women of all ages swooning. He would just radiant off of the screen. That uniform, the body, his voice is soo sexy, the charisma, and everything that makes u love him. OMG, I gotta to stop, because the man is dangerous to my health. Rain u got my heartbeat running away. Beating like a drum… Listening to Superbass

    • You are right regarding the draft in this country. My uncle was drafted and went to Vietnam. There were certain exemptions back then also. Someone who is a historian could answer that better than me. I think if you were the last son in your family to carry on your family name, you did not have to go. Also if you were a college student with a high grade point average, you did not have to go (which was the reason my father did not have to go). Not sure about all the exemptions, but there were a few. My uncle was not in the thick of it, thank God and came back home and completed college and went on to the corporate world. However, serving in the military is quite serious and you will be called to bare arms, if your country says you have to, if you are active duty.

  14. I will definitely miss him while her dose his duty for his country. Ughhh i feel like my daddy is leaving 😥 i will be making some good luck solder images for him and posting them on FB soon.

Leave a Reply

