A Letter From An Asian Male Reader

Happy Friday to everyone! I hope your week went well, but even if it didn’t, we are right on the cusp of the weekend 🙂

I wanted to share a special email I received from a young Vietnamese man who has frequented my blog and felt the need to express his appreciation for our appreciation of Asian men. So, enjoy! And if you are so moved, please let him know your own thoughts by leaving a comment.

To my Asian male readers: If there are more of you out there, I want you guys speak up and let us know! As you can see from this blog, we have no problem speaking up about you! 🙂

Hi, I wanted to tell you how much I love your blog, thank you so so so so much for showing love for us. I couldn’t comment on your articles on that idiot researcher. Kanazawa is an idiot. I will tell you, as an Asian man (Vietnamese to be more specific), I honestly think that black women are the most beautiful women in the world! I find black women to be so physically attractive, and it doesn’t matter if she’s light-skinned, caramel, or dark-skinned, I find black women of all shades to be beautiful. I also get along with a lot of black girls. My best friends are black girls, and I just click well with them. So I wanted to let you know that Kanazawa does not speak for all of us at all. I, for one, am proud to express how beautiful I think black women are. Unfortunately, not only is there a backlash against Kanazawa (which is justifiable), but against all Asian men (which is not justifiable). People are assuming that he speaks for all Asian men, so they are bashing us along with him.

It really breaks my heart how Asian men and black women share some of the same struggles in society. I understand your perspective on how people try to bring black women down, and it saddens me when people try to portray black women with negative stereotypes when black women are not like that. I also feel the same way about how the media and society negatively portray Asian men. While Asian women are portrayed positively as beautiful and desirable, Asian men are portrayed negatively as dorks and undesirable. Years ago, Bruce Lee became my hero because he defied how Asian men were portrayed in America, and exuded coolness and strength. Yet, society and movies love to show Asian men in a negative way (many movies, including very recent ones, come to mind). Just when I think guys like Bi or the Jabbawockeez or Quest Crew are showing how cool and desirable Asian men can be, society and the media keeps throwing absurd stereotypes and negative portrayals of Asian men in our face. The reason why I’m expressing this to you is, because it saddens me and breaks my heart how negatively portrayed and perceived Asian men are in this country, but seeing your blog brings such a smile to my face, and I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for showing love for us. Hope all is well with you. Take care.

This entry was posted in Of Note and tagged , , , , by bitofabelly81. Bookmark the permalink.

About bitofabelly81

Who I am Bitofabelly81 aka boab81, founder of Black Women Love Bi (BWLB): An Asian Men Appreciation Blog Why Because I love Bi/Rain/비/Jung Jihoon. I have never been inspired to start a blog/site for any celebrity/public figure, until I learned about Bi. He is the whole reason this blog exists. If it weren't for him, I would know nothing about the world of K-pop (which I adore), nor would I care. I am also a big fan of Japan and all things Japanese. I strive to feature men of all Asian ethnicities on the blog, but since K-pop and Hallyu are very popular, this blog has a tendency to lean more towards features on Korean men. Follow me on Twitter blackwomenloveb Find BWLB on Facebook here Wanna drop me a tip? Wanna say hi? Wanna say anything? Email me at bitofabelly81@gmail.com

20 thoughts on “A Letter From An Asian Male Reader

  1. Thank you for the “Love Letter.” That is what I call it, a love letter to Black women. It is not often that we are told that you are worthy to be loved and that we are appreciated. And for someone to say otherwise, do not know us. But have decided to lump all Black women into the same mold which is wrong. Each one of us are different, like an assorted box of chocolates! Instead of assuming that we are all the same, pick a couple and you’ll be surprised.

  2. I never knew that asian guys read BWLB(thats awesome)! Its nice to know that you guys do and that some aren’t afraid to admit they like Chocolate. Just like some of us black girls aren’t afraid to admit they like honey! ^^

  3. This was great for a pick-me-up. And I agree about the portrayal of Asian men in the media. They are either portrayed as the nerd or the dorky comedian à la Ken jeong. I think over time this will change but just know that there are plenty of black women who love and appreciate the underrepresented sexy Asian male.

  4. Wow!!!! I find it really sweet to hear an Asian man say those words. Many of Black women are being put down today because of how we look, act, and just being BLACK! Many people consider black people as useless, uneducated, and a race that will never be nothing. Being labeled like that really discourages me and it really breaks my heart. What you sid was really upbuilding and THANK YOU from deep within my heart for truly appreciating BLACK WOMEN!!!!! 🙂

  5. This was wonderful! That made my day as well! To all our Asian male followers, we’re so happy you appreciate us, and please, come back soon!!!

  6. aww, smiling! thank you for those beautiful sentiments, they were very nice to read. btw, bruce lee fan here too..

    i was also very disappointed to see the negative comments floating around about asian men in general as a result of that stupid article…hopefully more people will visit forums like this one and remember that stereotyping is hurtful and harmful…there is beauty and ugly in every group, and i’m talking as much about what’s inside as well as outside…we don’t like it when it’s done to us, so why do it to anyone else? especially when we all have so much in common?

    don’t hate…appreciate! 🙂

    happy weekend everybody!
    xoxo

  7. ladibug:”…there is beauty and ugly in every group, and i’m talking as much about what’s inside as well as outside…we don’t like it when it’s done to us, so why do it to anyone else? especially when we all have so much in common?”

    I couldn’t agree more. Very Well Said!

    To our Vietnamese visitor-Welcome! It was very nice of you to take the time to compose such a positive letter. I am glad that you feel comfortable posting here. It is a very nice “place” to visit and it always nice to read more positive comments. Hopefully we haven’t embarassed you with our girly comments 🙂

  8. I concur, with what my blog sister Ladibug said as well. There is beauty and ugly in every group but your letter is proof that there is common ground among different cultures and that we can come together in harmony and love. I too am a Bruce Lee fan and loved his movies growing up. He definitely tried to break barriers for Asian men and hopefully Asian entertainers like Bi can/will continue the “fight.” I have watched Ninja Assassin so many times, I’ve memorize dialogue. (SMILES)

    To our Vietnamese visitor/friend, I too say welcome and please feel free to engage us. It’s not a secret that we find Asian men attractive, but we also like to learn as much as we can about Asian culture as well. This is one reason why I love this blog so much. Not only do I get to “gawk” at gorgeous Asian men, but I learn a little more each day things about Asian culture I never knew. The more Asian men and Black women engage in mutual conversation, the more we can get to know what our culture’s really are all about, first hand, and not through stereotypical images and biased media depictions. Please drop in again sometime…………..(SMILES)

  9. I believe and know that all asian men do not think like Kanazawa. Thank you brother for making a blackwomen feel good, cause lately we as well as asian men are so underappreiated and disrespected at times especially in the media. We in the US are still so stuck on race mainly because not a enough was done to rectify the damage racism caused. I make it a mission to combat racism perpetrated against all people of color,in hopes that in the near future we will see an American film starring Bi or Sung Kang just as leading men with Gabriel Union as their love interest.Things are gonna change eventually I pray. Once again thank you.

  10. I think I was nodding my head throughout the entire letter. I never really comment, but this made me want to comment and say that this made my day! I’m really glad to see and have proof that there are Asian men who will take the time out and express their passion for black women…

  11. Well, goodness! Is this a real treat, or what? And so I sail into this weekend grinning like a fool… 😀

    Thanks for sharing this Email with us. And huge thanks to the guy who sent it to you. (You both rock.)

  12. This really made my day! 🙂 Shout out to the guy who wrote the letter as well as the woman who posted it. Thanks a bunches. Muwwwaahhha! (spell check lol)

  13. Such a sweet letter, thank you!!!!! Kudos to the man who wrote it, Kudos to the lady that posted it.

    This reminds me of one of my absolute favorite quotes “Love is everything it’s cracked up to be…It really is worth fighting for, being brave for, risking everything for.” – Erica Jong

  14. I absolutely love this post, bitofabelly81! I agree it’s great that you shine the light on Asian men, who are typically down-played just as black women are in society.

    To the Vietnamese gentleman who wrote the lovely letter, it’s truly heart-warming to hear your sentiments. I think it’s wonderful that you’ve come forth and credited bitofabelly81. We have to break this race issue in America…we’re in 2011, but some individuals still hold narrow-minded views that date back to the 1950s.

    Keep up the good work, bitofabelly81! 🙂

  15. Aww.. the Vietnamese of that letter is such a sweetie. Much love to him.

    We know that Kanazawa don’t speak for all Asian men and I just think it’s sad that some people feel that all Asian men and people in general are like that. No doubt that what he said was probably hurtful to many Black women, but it’s guys like that Vietnamese man who reminds us not only they are not Kanazawa,but also think highly of us, but I’ve always thought highly of them.

  16. I had to come back and say I pulled out all of my Bruce Lee dvds, invited a few of my girls over and we are going watch a little ‘Bit-O-Honey’ this weekend. And of course start it off with Ninja Assassin.

    ONE LOVE!!!

  17. i tooo didnt know asian guys read this blog (crossed my mind but no, didnt really think about it) hopefuly these sterotypes fade and its always nice to hear messeges like these.

  18. I want to say that asian men and asian women are beautiful people. I find asian men are good looking. My asian brothers need to realize that you have a lot of black sisters out there including myself who want to talk to you but we don’t know how to approach you. Teach us!

Leave a Reply

