Black Women and Chinese Men: Where’s the Love?

Check out this great article on Black women and Chinese men posted by an African-American woman in living in China and married to a Chinese man. She discusses many of the issues we’ve already covered on this blog, but as I always say, it doesn’t hurt to go over it again!

When it all comes down to it, people are people. Period. Black women and Asian men simply need more exposure to each other. This in itself will dispel many of the stereotypes they’ve heard about the other. I didn’t even consider Asian men as an option before I started working at a Japanese company 7 years ago. Because of negative media stereotypes, I considered them weak and unable to “handle me”. But after working with them for so long, I am a firsthand witness to their hard work ethic, cultural pride and physical beauty. So yes, I myself am a convert, not only to Asian men, but from ignorance. And I couldn’t be happier 🙂

8 thoughts on “Black Women and Chinese Men: Where’s the Love?

  1. I totally agree! At the end of the day, people are people, and love is love. The film “Romeo Must Die” centered around an asian man (Jet Li) and a black American woman (Aaliyah) falling in love despite the odds. However, as you expressed, Asian men and black women just need more exposure…(There’s no hard or set-fast rule that says the two can’t fall in love; but instead, society plays a large part in such thinking).

  2. Thank you for sharing the article. I have been lurking here for a couple of 2 weeks and was finally compelled to chime into the conversations. Psychology Today report ripped us apart yesterday and it is nice to know there is a little ray of sunshine somewhere in the world.

    • @ladyorchid: welcome! thanks so much for bringing that article to our attention! Funny though, when I tried to google it, the page seems to have been removed! Maybe PT has gotten too much flack about it?? Do you happen to have a copy of this article?

      • Unfortunately no, I do not have it. I think some of it is still circulating on different blogs though.

  3. Yes, I also like reading Jo’s articles about her husband and her experiences being and African American woman in China. Sometimes ,I read her blog. it’s equally as enjoyable as her news articles are. From what I’ve read about her, she’s also a woman with a big heart.

    Asian men/Black women needs more exposure to each other and to learn about each other. I thought about that Psychology Today article written by Satoshi Kanazawa. I’ve read some of his previous online articles. I’m really surprised that Psychology Today is still in circulation. I no longer take that magazine seriously, especially when they want to put quacks like him in it. Even one of his colleagues said that he’s a buffoon.

    This guy based his “studies” on people’s opinions. How can you make hypothetical conclusions on what people think about each other when everybody have different thoughts about beauty? It’s is one of those things that can never be concluded or factual. Ok, he may not think well of Black women’s looks,but another person may think otherwise. If people really read into his supposed studies, it will look mighty familiar to them. It’s a regal way of him just doing what some people do to Black women everyday–bashing them with the same stereotypes. He ought to be a man about it , just say it like it is and stop pretending that it’s science because it isn’t.

    I don’t know why Kanazawa is downing Black women. He’s, as some people say, ” tore-up from the floor up”. No matter what he and other critics my think about Black women, I know that every Asian man isn’t like that idiot and there are Asian men who love Black women. I respect people who respects me no matter what race they are.

    • I think we’ve ALL come across narrow-minded quacks like him sometime in our lives. There are those who don’t care to prove stereotypes wrong, and there are those, like Kanazawa, who would rather pretend to do research, so no one can directly blame him for slandering us. Fine.

Leave a Reply

