Jo Odagiri Challenges Himself

35-year-old Japanese thespian Jo Odagiri loves a good challenge and prefers making films outside of his native Japan so that his ego isn’t needlessly fed. I gotta respect that he doesn’t want to be coddled. Check out the interesting interview below where he so calmly, and so carefully discusses what attracted him to starring in the 2009 film “The Warrior and the Wolf”.

Wow, this guy is so cool. I’m talking James Dean cool! I don’t imagine he’ll want to challenge himself enough to cross over the pond to Hollywood, but then again, I don’t think I would really want him to. Yep, there is this on-going struggle within myself concerning talented Asian entertainers crossing over into Hollywood. I so badly want recognition and exposure for them, but I don’t want them to be chewed up and spit out by the Hollywood machine. And if they’re gonna be chewed up and spit out (ONLY IF), then by goodness, they should come out as top, A-list Hollywood actors.

But only the strongest mental candidates need apply. Hollywood ain’t for the faint of heart. I really think Bi would thrive. He’s got a tough, resilient mind, and I don’t think there’s anything he can’t handle. Kid’s been through a lot, and I’m not just referring to his pre-debut days. Ayy, anyway. Everyone have a great start to your week!

This entry was posted in Jo Odagiri and tagged , , , , , , by bitofabelly81. Bookmark the permalink.

About bitofabelly81

Who I am Bitofabelly81 aka boab81, founder of Black Women Love Bi (BWLB): An Asian Men Appreciation Blog Why Because I love Bi/Rain/비/Jung Jihoon. I have never been inspired to start a blog/site for any celebrity/public figure, until I learned about Bi. He is the whole reason this blog exists. If it weren't for him, I would know nothing about the world of K-pop (which I adore), nor would I care. I am also a big fan of Japan and all things Japanese. I strive to feature men of all Asian ethnicities on the blog, but since K-pop and Hallyu are very popular, this blog has a tendency to lean more towards features on Korean men. Follow me on Twitter blackwomenloveb Find BWLB on Facebook here Wanna drop me a tip? Wanna say hi? Wanna say anything? Email me at bitofabelly81@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Jo Odagiri Challenges Himself

  1. ” Hollywood isn’t for the faint at heart”

    That is so true and very unfair. They do not want to give people their props. There is still a lot of prejudice there. I read an article where Black actors/writers would love to see more creation of dramas on TV,but it is often rejected as they aren’t taken seriously. Hollywood only see them in comedy.

    Unfortunately, Asian men aren’t the exception to the rule. It’s amazing how most of them are still overlooked. If they are discovered,they put on roles that will not bring out the best in them or stereotypical ones. This what many of them complain about. Much rave as Bi has gotten, that guy should be a part of Hollywood. He was offered two jobs with them,but he had to turn them down because of him going to the military.

    Hollywood is insane. It’s definitely not for the faint of heart. Though I feel that Bi is a strong willed guy, he probably will get a taste of it and not want to be in that rate race.

  2. I applaud the Asian actors who have decided to remain in their own markets. No doubt many are talented and can pull out Oscar worthy performances. As far as Bi goes, he’s had the opportunity to “see” Hollywood from the inside. I think he knows what’s in store and he knows it’s going to be hard. This is why I think the decision to re-locate here after the military (if he holds true to the statement he made). So that can be the focus. He’s already faced some “Hollywood isms” (1) the HOT chemistry between he and Naomie Harris was curtailed and they were not allowed to act upon it, as per usual for most ethnic people. Ethnic love-making Still scares the Sh__t out of Hollywood. (2) Speed Racer wasn’t exactly a box office “smash hit” (3) He’s faced some “iffy” movie reviews for Ninja Assassin (but only review that counts is WE LOVE IT!).

    So while I think some Asian actors should continue to take up the charge at home, others like Bi want to “soldier on” (no pun intended) to new territory to open closed doors and I give props to them for that too.

Leave a Reply

