Taken From Me: The Tiffany Rubin Story

My cousin actually tipped me off to this, as she saw the movie preview commercial on Lifetime. It was fitting that I didn’t see it because in my opinion, Lifetime is a network/channel I have never really cared for, because of its abundance in fear-mongering movies and lack of diversity in the casts. However, I thought “Taken From Me” was very ironic to this time and relevant to my blog. Although it is not free of the fear-mongering that Lifetime is so popular for, there is certainly a diverse cast. See the movie preview clip below.

Sadly, and as you can see, this is not a romance story. The story is of an African-American woman who’s young blasian son (fathered by her ex-boyfriend, a Korean man) is taken, or “legally kidnapped” by his father back to Seoul, South Korea. She does everything she can to get the boy back home to the States. The movie premieres on January 31st, so obviously, I have not seen it yet, and cannot make an educated comment on it.

PROS: Love Taraji P. Henson, who stars as Tiffany Rubin, NUFF SAID. Sean Baek (who stars as the “Jeff”, the Korean ex-boyfriend) is a fresh Korean/Asian face that I hope we can expect to see in more films in the future.

CONS: Although this is a true story, it does bother me a tad that the AM/BW couple is being portrayed this way, when we really don’t get that much airtime anyway.

As always, I’d love to hear your preliminary thoughts on it.

7 thoughts on “Taken From Me: The Tiffany Rubin Story

  1. Exactly!

    That was one of the first thoughts on my mind when I first heard about Tiffany’s story. You have some real idiots in this world who want to blame a person’s race for being the way they are and/or just those people who just take issue with anybody just dating/marrying their race. Far as I’m concerned, the kidnapping of her son wouldn’t not make me look down on Korean , other Asians or any other race. Thankfully, little Kobe’s story didn’t turn tragic. There are so many other abducted children in this world whose story haven’t turned to be this joyous.

    Far as Taranji, I’ve noticed that she has played the girlfriend/wife of Black, Latino, ,now Asian and White men.I could be wrong,but I do not think( and if I’m wrong ,let me know)I’ve seen a Black actress( or actresses in general, for that matter) who has played various interracial roles. That’s a great thing because it shows her versatility in them. I wouldn’t be surprised if she gets to play in another interracial themed movie. She’s a great actress. I also wonder who is the man that is playing the role of Kobe’s dad?

  2. Although I don’t like the negativity regarding the storyline, I am glad that at least there is an acknowledgement that AM/BW relationships do indeed exist on the real. It’s not just some fantasy that people are talking about. I believe that sometime in the not too distant future, there will be some filmmaker out there will show the ACTUAL LOVE that can be powerful between two human beings, one of Asian descent and the other African-American. I don’t know if you have discussed this small independent film here, but I recently saw “Akira’s Hip Hop Shop” and loved it. The director wasn’t afraid to GO THERE like they were in Ninja Assassin. I wanted to see more. I also wonder what the film “Something New” starring Sanaa Lathan and Simon Baker would have been like if Bi had the Simon Baker role. Just thinking out loud. I do intend to watch the Tiffany Rubin Story since becoming aware of it. Hey, there was a TV movie out back in the 90s, if I’m not mistaken starring Sallie Field and she too had here child stolen by her ex-husband and he was of Middle Eastern descent. She did the same “rescue” mission in the Middle East to get her kid back too. I personally never felt this was an indictment of all Middle Eastern men and I would hope that people viewing Tiffany Rubin’s story would use the same judgement when viewing the different ethnicities within it. In the meantime here is a snippet of Akira’s Hip Hop Shop.

  3. “Not Without My Daughter” is the name of the Sally Field movie you were talking about. This true story was about an American woman who’s (I think) Iranian husband “tricked” her into bring their whole family to his country only to find out when she got there that her husband had no intentions on ever leaving his home country and going back to American. I saw the movie a long time ago, after it had come out and all of the talk about it had died down. It was a good movie and story, that had a happy ending.

    I’m not much of a Lifetime channel viewer, seems to me all the movies run 2-3 hrs too long, so I don’t watch. I’m not sure if I’ll see this movie, but I do like the storyline. I hope it ends happily and people who watch it see that BW/AM relationships are out there.

Leave a Reply

