Won Bin’s Got My Attention

I love it when an attractive entertainer, specifically known for his good looks, steps out of his comfort zone, and attempts to tackle a role or project that shatters expectations or barriers that have caged him. I love it when said entertainer just simply attempts it. This tells me that he wants to be taken seriously as an artist, and is willing to sacrifice his good looks and reputation as a hottie to do so. For example, Charlize Theron in “Monster” or Leonardo DiCaprio in “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape”. Stellar performances to say the least.

In the way that Yoo Ji-Tae blew me away with his portrayal of the deranged bad guy in “Old Boy”, I think Won Bin took a similar path when he played a mentally-challenged young man accused of committing a heinous murder in “Mother”, a 2009 critically-acclaimed Korean film that made him show up on my radar as well. I always thought he was hot, but now that I see his depth as an artist, I will keep an eye out for his upcoming projects and look forward to them, no less.

“Mother” tells the story of 28-year-old Do-joon, a mentally challenged young man, who lives with his mom. The murder of a teen schoolgirl is committed and Do-joon becomes the prime suspect, sending Do-joon’s mother on a quest to prove her only son’s innocence.

Don’t forget to subscribe! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Won Bin’s Got My Attention

  1. i totally agree about leo in ‘gilbert grape’…that role changed my thinking about him as an actor….i’ve seen won bin around but he always looked so young to me even though we are about the same age, so i pretty much dismissed him…i need to check out ‘mother’ because it looks like now he’s come into his own…love that pic, btw…

  2. I just watched a vid on youtube with Won Bin in Africa doing charity work in Africa it was beautiful and touched my heart. He isn’t just gorgeous but has a kind heart as well and I think that’s what makes him so appealing to me. I’m CROSSING MY FINGERS HE WILL MAKE A FEW FILMS IN HOLLYWOOD and more people take notice of him.

  3. Pingback: Thai Actor Thanayong Wongtrakul | Black Women Love 비

Leave a Reply

