Just Terrifying: Yazima Beauty Salon

Now folks, this is the stuff nightmares are made of. If you haven’t already heard of this drag singing group, you will now! Yazima Beauty Salon is a black girl group from Las Vegas, NV who has been discovered by DJ Ozma. You can read all about them here. I’ve read several articles with complaints that this spoof girl group’s portrayal of black women is stereotypical and racist. Maybe I just haven’t seen enough of their videos/skits, but its not the portrayal of black women that bothers me….they’re just straight up scary! I get that I am not their target audience, but sheeesh!

Here/see this hot mess of a drag group sing “Sakura” in the video clip below:

As usual, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

5 thoughts on “Just Terrifying: Yazima Beauty Salon

  1. I’ve the watched the video posted above and when it finished I watched a couple of the others listed there. Even though I don’t know what is being said, I can definitely see some stereotypical behavior in their characters. I see them making caricatures out of black women portraying us as loud, wearing gawdy hair, over the top clothing and make up. Yes, they are definitely using these stereotypes. I don’t know, but to my knowledge traditional Asians from outside of the U.S. get their information on Black people mainly from the movies. Because of this, they don’t get the true and complete “scope” of what Black America is, so they think this stereotypical “ISH” is funny, but it’s so NOT! Even though this group is based in Vegas (the U.S.), they are so limited in their views, that much is obvious. The same way we as Black women have embraced Bi and his culture in its entirety, the Asian population can/should embrace All that is Black America (specifically black women) as well, especially if you’re going to try do some comical “ISH” portraying us…….KNOW us in our entirety!

    I would never presume to do comedy portraying a culture I don’t fully understand.

Leave a Reply

